ELT'oSpHere

Aslı Saglam's Blog about CPD in ELT

I am back to School and Blogging :)

September19

 

I am Back to School

Yesterday I had an interesting dream: I was trying to carry a school bag that is at least 10 times bigger that its original size (Originally it was as big as I was!). Sweating, trying real hard to lift it and put it on my shoulder and carry it onwards…. Today is my first day at school. I worked hard to prepare myself and adapt to it. (The reader should not think that I dislike teaching. On the contrary…! But long warm summer days are over and all teachers would agree with me that a transition period and collegial support are needed between sun-beach-holiday trilogy and classroom teaching.

 

I am Back to Blogging

I haven’t written a single thing since I started my summer holiday and I thought that this day is the day for new beginnings (at least in terms of tecahing and blogging- still not for dieting unfortunately :))

Looking forward to meeting my new students

Today I will meet my new students (who are elementary English language learners) and I wanted to say “hello” and break the ice with interesting and fun activities. Therefore, I prepared a short movie to demonstrate some teaching points including “introducing one’s self, verb to be and some adjectives”. First I asked my friends to help me by posing and we had our photos taken. Then I used The Big Hue Labs and add a caption on each photo by using the “Captioner”My short Movie for my new students: Greeting each other feature. Finally I transferred all the photos with captions on the windows movie-maker (which is a free to download program and recorded our voice. Thanks to everyone involved, I hope that my students will enjoy our first class today. (Wish me Luck :))

I know that there are many teachers out there who are starting a brand new academic year. Have a successful and fun academic year.

What are your favourite first day activities? If you have some interesting ice-breakers and warmers please let us know.

 My short Movie for my new students: Greeting each other

by posted under Uncategorized | No Comments »    

Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

subscribe for free

e-mail subscription

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Clustr Maps

Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest
new TWTR.Widget({ version: 2, type: 'profile', rpp: 4, interval: 30000, width: 250, height: 300, theme: { shell: { background: '#333333', color: '#ffffff' }, tweets: { background: '#000000', color: '#ffffff', links: '#4aed05' } }, features: { scrollbar: false, loop: false, live: false, behavior: 'all' } }).render().setUser('aslilidice').start();

Twitter Feed


!function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0],p=/^http:/.test(d.location)?'http':'https';if(!d.getElementById(id)){js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=p+"://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js";fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}}(document,"script","twitter-wjs");

The EduBlog Awards 2014 Finalist

The EduBlog Awards 2014 Finalist

iMoot15_Attendee

iMoot15_Attendee

GEC 2014 Presenter

GEC 2014 Presenter


Skip to toolbar